Scholastic Shining Stars

Area colleges, universities name honors list students, grads

Elizabeth Shephard named to 2018 Empire 8 fall president’s list

Elizabeth Shephard of Cazenovia was among 61 Elmira College Soaring Eagles on the Empire 8 Conference’s semi-annual president’s list, which recognizes student-athletes who earned a grade-point average of 3.75 or higher during the fall term.

Eligible student-athletes must be enrolled full-time at a conference institution, participate on a varsity team and display positive conduct on and off campus. In total, the Empire 8’s nine full-time members and 10 affiliates saw 817 student-athletes thrive in the classroom and receive president’s list accolades during the fall.

“Our student-athletes continue to succeed at remarkable levels in the classroom, and I couldn’t be more proud of their accomplishments,” E8 Commissioner Chuck Mitrano said. “Our membership’s commitment to academic success is unparalleled, and these numbers prove that once again.”

The EC men’s soccer team led the way with eight selections, followed by men’s ice hockey with seven. Baseball, softball, women’s volleyball, women’s soccer and cheerleading each placed five student-athletes on the E8 President’s List.

Dean’s list at the University of Delaware

The following local resident has been named to the University of Delaware dean’s list for the fall 2018 semester:

Timo Hummrich of Berlin

To meet eligibility requirements for the dean’s list, a student must be enrolled full-time and earn a GPA of 3.33 or above (on a 4.0 scale) for the semester.

Buffalo State College announces fall 2018 dean’s list

Buffalo State College announces the following student has been named to the fall 2018 dean’s list:

Maureen Krak of Oneida, a business administration

To qualify, students must earn a GPA of 3.5 or higher and complete a minimum of 12 credit hours.

Ithaca College students named to fall 2018 dean’s list

Ithaca College congratulates students named to the dean’s list for the fall 2018 semester; the following local students were named to the dean’s list:

  • Exercise science major Emily Vallee of Oneida
  • Theatre arts management major Caeli Carroll of Cazenovia
  • Exploratory major Evan Ormsby of Cazenovia
  • Environmental studies major Seth Ormsby of Cazenovia
  • Politics major Lauren Smith of Oneida

Tanner Williams of Oneida named to University of New Hampshire dean’s list for fall 2018

Tanner Williams of Oneida has been named to the dean’s list at the University of New Hampshire for earning highest honors for the fall 2018 semester. Williams is majoring in Business Administration.

Students named to the Dean’s List at the University of New Hampshire have earned recognition through superior scholastic performance during a semester enrolled in a full-time course load (12 or more graded credits). Highest honors are awarded to students who earn a semester grade point average of 3.85 or better out of a possible 4.0. Students with a 3.65 to 3.84 average are awarded high honors and students whose grade point average is 3.5 through 3.64 are awarded honors.

Erieville native Ernest Hackney graduates from Ithaca College

Ernest Hackney of Erieville graduated cum laude from Ithaca College with a BS in business administration.

Area students graduate from SUNY Oswego in fall 2018

Lyndsey Becker

Several area SUNY Oswego students completed their baccalaureate studies in fall 2018. Commencement, with faculty in full academic regalia, took place in December.

  • Lyndsey Becker of Harsh Road in Canastota completed a bachelor of science degree, cum laude, in business administration
  • Kailey A. Calvarese of Lafayette Avenue in Canastota completed a bachelor of science degree in finance

A student who graduates with honors is indicated by the traditional Latin phrases summa cum laude, with highest honor (grade averages of 3.8 to 4.0); magna cum laude, with great honor (grade averages of 3.6 to 3.79); and cum laude, with honor (grade averages of 3.30 to 3.59).

Students named Clarkson University presidential scholars

The following students have been named presidential scholars for the fall 2018 semester at Clarkson University:

  • Margaret Collins of Bouckville, a computer engineering major
  • Mikey Culkin of Chittenango, an aeronautical engineering / mechanical engineering major
  • Isaac Nash Czarnecki of Bridgeport, a political science major
  • Tony P. Koppers of Cazenovia, a chemical engineering major
  • Matt Lanphear of Chittenango, a business studies major
  • Henri Joseph Morak of Chittenango, a civil engineering major
  • Rebecca Winchell of Wampsville, a financial information and analysis major

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.