Eight Mustangs named to AHCA All-American Scholars list





Eight Mustangs named to AHCA All-American Scholars list

The American Hockey Coaches Association recognized 821 student-athletes from Division II-III men’s and women’s ice hockey to its “All American Scholars” list, including eight from Morrisville State.





Varsity ice hockey players who averaged a 3.60 GPA or better, and participated in at least 40% of their games during the 2017-18 season were nominated for the honor.

Four from the Mustangs men’s program received the honor, including seniors Jon Lauer (Camillus) and Max Sund (Stockholm, Sweden), along with sophomores Nick DeVito (Averill Park) and Jared Young (Pueblo West, Colo.).

Morrisville State had the fourth most among State University of New York Athletic Conference selections, as Potsdam had eight selections, Brockport seven and Buffalo State five.

The women’s team also had four honorees, including freshman Danielle Bunting (Thornville, Ont.), alongside juniors Maria deWilde (Caistorville, Ont.), Megan Kirk (Breezy Point) and Ciara Lark (Mildmay, Ont.).

Morrisville State advanced to the NCAA Division III tournament for the first time in conference and program history a year ago, after claiming their second straight Colonial Hockey Conference title.

The Mustangs will get their seasons underway in early October before hitting the ice later in the month for season openers.

Additional schedule information can be found on the college’s athletic web site at www.morrisvillestateathletics.com.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.