Pictured from left are employee recognition awards winners: Nurse of Distinction, Susan O’Sullivan, RN, Employee of the Year; Kathy Kerr, Housekeeping and Provider of the Year; and Cindy Marshall, Family Nurse Practitioner.

Community Memorial honors employees at annual employee recognition celebration

On Friday, March 23, 2018, three Community Memorial employees were recognized for their dedication to providing quality healthcare at the Annual Employee Recognition Celebration held at Arts at the Palace in Hamilton.

The Employee Recognition Celebration provides an opportunity to say “thank you” to the dynamic and innovative employees who touch the lives of patients at Community Memorial and its five Family Health Centers every day through their professionalism, commitment to excellence and patient-centered care.  This year’s theme was Mardi Gras.

“Each year, more than 80,000 patients come through the doors of Community Memorial and our Family Health Centers.  The employees, who are our greatest asset, carry out the mission of Community Memorial by providing compassionate care while focusing on the patient needs.  I am proud to work with our staff.  Together we provide high quality care, close to home,” said Sean Fadale, President and CEO of Community Memorial.

The Annual Employee Award, which recognizes employees who demonstrate extraordinary dedication to direct service for patients and positively affected the quality of life of those served or has significantly improved a service/program that embodies the mission of Community Memorial was presented to three employees.  Recipients of the 2017 awards were:

Nurse of Distinction – Susan O’Sullivan, RN

O’Sullivan was described as a committed professional, ready to take care of any patient coming through the emergency room.  She takes time to answer questions thoroughly for the patient and their family members.  She willingly tries new things if it benefits the patient.  She is a mentor to other staff members and a teacher for the nursing students that come to Community Memorial for their clinical experience.

O’Sullivan’s nominator felt she deserved this award because she is a great nurse.  Always willing to help and caring deeply about her patients.  Susan is the first one to wash a stretcher or run a mop over the floor, because it’s the right thing to do.  Susan is a team player and a wonderful asset to the Community Memorial Family.

Provider of the Year – Cindy Marshall, Family Nurse Practitioner

Marshall’s patients are just not another appointment.  Each patient is special and treated as such.  She cares about their well-being, what is happening in their life, and what is best for them.  Recognizing all aspects of patient-focused care, Marshall listens to patient concerns respectful of their wishes or beliefs and takes all into account when managing their care.

Marshall is described as friendly, professional and humble.  She is a leader inspiring others to do their best and work hard to achieve their goals.  Cindy has a kind heart, sharp mind and treats everyone thoughtfully and with great kindness.

Employee of the Year – Kathy Kerr, Housekeeping

Kerr always has a smile and a friendly hello when patients, family members and staff walk by.  She works hard to keep the hospital clean and is often on her hands and knees scrubbing the floor, air vents, or whatever is needed.  You frequently observe Kathy in the working hard in the emergency room to keep things clean, answering pages and guiding patients and families to their destination, even escorting them personally.  Always courteous and professional, Kerr puts herself last and patients and other staff first.  As her nominator puts it, “it’s time to recognized Kathy for her years of hard work and dedication.  She is a hard worker and an asset to the hospital.”

The celebration also recognized years of service milestones at Community Memorial Hospital and Family Health Centers:

5 Years of Service

  • Penny Kuhn
  • Ryan Pylinski
  • Susan O’Sullivan
  • Matthew Taylor
  • Dawn Sampson
  • Martin Ernits, MD
  • Scott Maine
  • Sarah Hansen

10 Years of Service

  • Delphina Moore
  • Megan Hazzard
  • Molly McConville
  • Lynette Champagne
  • Sharon Riggall
  • Corey Morgan
  • Danielle Buell
  • Jennifer Meyers, MD
  • Michelle Heh
  • Jerrico Wright
  • Katherine Kerr

15 Years of Service

  • Debra Tucker
  • Susan Beauvais
  • Bethany Patrick
  • Pamela Nichols
  • Tonya Tefft
  • Sarah Grisolini
  • Deborah Vescio

20 Years of Service

  • Diana VanAlthuis

25 Years of Service

  • Kim Clement
  • Barbara Crumb
  • Barbara Grisolini
  • Cynthia Bush
  • Barbara Kupris

40 Years of Service

  • Esther Hooftallen

By martha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.