Men’s Hockey Has Eight on All-Academic Squad

COLGATE C-GATE(July 2013) Members of the Colgate men’s hockey team were recently honored for their work in the classroom as eight skaters joined the ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team for the 2012-13 academic year.

Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters.

Overall, a total of 217 student-athletes were named to the ECAC Hockey All-Academic squad. There were 121 skaters that were also named to the team last season, while 71 were three-time honorees and 26 received the award for the four-consecutive season. Rensselaer led the way with 24 team members, while Quinnipiac, Princeton, Yale and Union, all had 20 or more players on the team.

The Raiders saw Kurtis Bartliff, Nathan Sinz and Thomas Larkin, join the list of 26 that earned spots all four years. Jeremy Price was selected to the team for the third time. Senior Mike Leidl was an all-academic choice for the first time, along with rookies Mike Borkowski, Kyle Baun and Spencer Finney.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>