Raiders hand out team awards, announce 2017-18 captains

Colgate Swimming and Diving Teams Celebrate 2016-17 Season at Annual Banquet

The Colgate swimming and diving teams recently got together to celebrate the 2016-17 season and hand out team awards at the squad’s annual banquet.

The 2016-17 Scholar-Athlete Awards were given to senior Austin Anderson and sophomore Richard Huang. The two Raiders excelled in the classroom during the season as Anderson compiled a 3.91 grade point average and Huang impressed with a mark of 3.92.

Team MVP honors were bestowed upon junior Megan Gallagher and first-year Colton Hall. Gallagher competed in five events at the Patriot League Championship meet. She earned Patriot League Swimmer of the Week honors on Nov. 14. Hall wrapped up his impressive freshman campaign by setting three Colgate first-year records and one school record during the Patriot League Championship meet. Over the four-day meet, Hall led the team with five top-10 finishes and seven top-12 finishes.

The Ironman and Ironwoman awards were given to sophomore Anders Brekke and first-year Carolyn Silverman. The coaching staff chose Brekke and Silverman as the student-athletes who were not only exemplary in their commitment and work ethic, but also demonstrated the highest degree of durability in their training.

Anderson and junior Mel Phillips were announced as the winners of the Excelsior Awards, which are given out to the student-athletes who, through dedication and outstanding work ethic, have shown the most improvement in their performance throughout the year. Anderson wrapped up her time in the Maroon and White by scoring points in the 1-meter dive finals at the Patriot League Championships for the first time in her career. Phillips picked up points in the 3-meter dive at the championship meet.

The Ted Gregory Award was handed out to junior Seamus Fitzhenry. The award is named in honor of former Colgate Swimming & Diving Team Captain Ted Gregory, who remains an active supporter of the program. This award is presented annually to the male or female exemplifying Ted’s attitude and long-standing commitment to the swimming and diving programs, while also developing an understanding of his or her role on the team and has gone above and beyond in fulfilling that role in an effort to improve the program.

The Donna Carter ’80 Award, given in memory of beloved All-America and USA National Team member who died tragically during a mountain climbing accident, went to first-year Kiersten Daly. The award recognizes the outstanding athletic and academic achievement in the women’s swimming program. Daly competed in four events at the PLC meet, finishing seventh in the 400-yard IM.

The Maroon & White and Aaron Weddle ’06 Trophies are awarded by the coaching staff to the most spirited athletes who always place the needs of the team at the top and represent Colgate’s traditions with honor. Sophomore Courtney Gilroy took home the women’s honor, while first-year Ian Flowers received the award on the men’s side.

In addition to handing out the team awards, the Raiders also announced their 2017-18 captains. Rising seniors Gallagher, Carney and Kim Chan will take over as captains on the women’s side. Fitzhenry, Thomas Fretz and Ryan Mathes will handle leadership roles for the men.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>