Canastota Tournament 015 copyCanastota Tournament 023Canastota Tournament 035 copyCanastota Tournament 050Canastota Tournament 060

Main on Sports

By Ric Main

(Canastota, NY – Jan. 2013) Three Madison County Schools participated in the 13th annual Dick New Wrestling Memorial Tournament Friday and Saturday Jan. 4 and 5 at the Canastota Central School. Canastota finished first place in the field of 17 while Chittenango placed ninth followed by Oneida at number 12.

Canastota claimed four championship matches: 120lb Nate Walker (Can) dec Brad Dietz (Ph) 5-2, 126lb Connor Russ (Can) pin Alex Herringshaw (HP) 5:32, 170lb Jesse Puchales (Can) pin William Hilliard (Ph) 4:22, 285lb Jacob Morris (Can) dec Tyler Havener (Oneida) 3-2 4OT.

The Raiders would most likely had five but Zack Zupan was disqualified in the 182-pound class while leading 9-2 after his opponent was injured on a body slam which the referee ruled illegal.

The highlight of the event was the four overtime thriller between Oneida’s Tyler Havener and Canastota’s Jake Morris. Final team standings were as follows: Canastota 238, Phoenix 214, J-D/CBA 182, Schalmont 178, HP 164, Gouverneur 162, Homer 159, F-M 101, Chittenango 94, West Genesee 86, Cato-Meridian 61, Oneida 61, Walton 59, Corning 56, ES-M 55, Fabius-Pompey 23, Poland 23.

By martha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.